Star Crossed Cover.png

Star Crossed:
A True Romeo and Juliet Story in Hitler's Paris

For readers of The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah who are hungry for a true account of Nazi Occupied Paris, Star-Crossed is the narrative nonfiction saga they can really sink their teeth into. Heather Dune Macadam and Simon Worrall transport readers to the past and introduce them to our Romeo and Juliet: a vivacious and beautiful, Jewish nineteen-year-old named Annette Zelman and a handsome young Catholic poet by the name of Jean Jausion. The pair are doomed to be torn apart by war, prejudice, and disapproving families in this deeply tragic and romantic historical tale.

Releasing January 2023

Erika Robuck, National Bestselling Author of Sisters of Night and Fog

““I devoured STARCROSSED. What a beautiful, heartbreaking story. Set amid the backdrop of encroaching war, STARCROSSED provides a window into the life of a family, full of heart, and the love story of one their own. The depiction of the vibrancy of youth and its stubborn refusal to succumb to darkness reveals the remarkable human capacities for resilience and hope. Macadam and Worrall have done great honor to the women and men in these pages by keeping the flame of memory burning.”

999

The untold story of some of WW2’s most hidden figures and the heartbreaking tragedy that unites them all. Readers of Born Survivors and A Train Near Magdeburg will devour the tragic tale of the first 999 women in Auschwitz concentration camp. This is the hauntingly resonant true story that everyone should know.

On March 25, 1942, nearly a thousand young, unmarried Jewish women, many of them teenagers, boarded a train in Poprad, Slovakia. Believing they were going to work in a factory for a few months, they were eager to report for government service and left their parents’ homes wearing their best clothes and confidently waving goodbye. Instead, the young women were sent to Auschwitz. Only a few would survive. Now acclaimed author Heather Dune Macadam reveals their stories, drawing on extensive interviews with survivors, and consulting with historians, witnesses, and relatives of those first deportees to create an important addition to Holocaust literature and women’s history.

999.png

#1 Best Seller on Amazon – January 2020
A PEN America Literary Award Finalist
A Goodreads Choice Awards Nominee
An Amazon Best of the Year Selection

Kirkus

“A fresh, remarkable story of Auschwitz…An uplifting story of the herculean strength of young girls in a staggeringly harrowing situation."
renas-promise.jpg

Rena's Promise

An expanded edition of the powerful memoir about two sisters' determination to survive during the Holocaust featuring new and never before revealed information about the first transport of women to Auschwitz

In March 1942, Rena Kornreich and 997 other young women were rounded up and forced onto the first Jewish transport of women to Auschwitz. Soon after, Rena was reunited with her sister Danka at the camp, beginning a story of love and courage that would last three years and forty-one days. From smuggling bread for their friends to narrowly escaping the ever-present threats that loomed at every turn, the compelling events in Rena’s Promise remind us that humanity and hope can survive inordinate brutality.

Neal Lavon, Voice of America

“One of the most important books of the modern age.” 

The Weeping Buddha

New Year’s Eve, 2001. Suffolk County Crimes Scene Detective Devon Halsey and her boyfriend, Homicide Detective Lochwood Brennen, are more interested in their own celebration when they are suddenly thrust into a New Year’s mayhem worse than either could have imagined. What do seasoned detectives do when faced with the complex situation of maintaining a murder crime scene’s integrity where they know both of the victims? They do their jobs.

Nominated for The Lambda Awards-Best Mystery and The Nero Wolfe Award.

the-weeping-buddha.jpg

Kaylie Jones, author of Celeste Ascending and A Soldier's Daughter Never Cries

“Heather Dune Macadam should be included in that rare category of literary mystery masters such as Lawrence Block, Craig Holden, and Giles Blunt, whose lyrical prose and beautifully developed characters have a great deal to say about the troubled world we live in and its legacy of violence.”